LMU Administration

Board of Trustees

Lincoln Memorial University is a private, non-profit institution controlled by a self-perpetuating Board of Trustees. Board members are elected on the basis of commitment to the programs and purposes of Lincoln Memorial University. Board members receive no remuneration from but work on behalf of the University. The Board establishes the broad guidelines of philosophy and institutional purpose and names the President to carry out their guidelines.

  • Autry O. V. (Pete) DeBusk, Chairman
  • Brian C. DeBusk, First Vice-Chairman
  • Gary J. Burchett, Second Vice-Chairman
  • James A. Jordan, Third Vice-Chairman
  • Sam A. Mars, III, Secretary
  • Roger A. Ball – Tazewell, TN
  • Arthur (Art) D. Brill - Martinsville, IN
  • Gary J. Burchett - Harrogate, TN
  • Jerry E. Burnette - Knoxville, TN
  • Sherrie Nevils Claiborne* - Harrogate, TN
  • George L. Day - Harrogate, TN
  • Brian C. DeBusk - Knoxville, TN
  • Autry O.V. (Pete) DeBusk - Knoxville, TN
  • Frederick S. Fields - San Francisco, CA
  • Robert W. Finley - Lockport, IL
  • Richard A. Gillespie - Knoxville, TN
  • Charles W. Holland - Knoxville, TN
  • James A. Jordan - Lauderdale By The Sea, FL
  • Terry L. Lee - Harrogate, TN
  • Sam A. Mars, III - Harrogate, TN
  • Timothy B. Matthews - Knoxville, TN
  • Alan C. Neely - New Tazewell, TN
  • Dorothy G. Neely - Tazewell, TN
  • Donald D. Patton - Knoxville, TN
  • Todd E. Pillion - Abingdon, VA
  • Carroll E. Rose – Tazewell, TN
  • James Jay Shoffner - Middlesboro, KY
  • Joseph F. Smiddy – Church Hill, TN
  • Paul Grayson Smith, Jr. - Cleveland, TN
  • E. Steven (Steve) Ward - Knoxville, TN
  • Jerry W. Zillion - Germantown, MD

*Alumni Representative

Officers of the University


  • E. Clayton Hess, PhD -  President of the University

Executive Council

  • Jody Goins, VP for Enrollment, Athletics, and Public Relations
  • Christy Graham, VP for Finance
  • Evelyn Smith, Special Assistant for Executive Affairs
  • Cindy Whitt, VP for University Advancement

President’s Cabinet

  • Joseph Cosgriff, Faculty Senate President
  • Mark Cushing, VP for Public Affairs and University Counsel
  • Jason Johnson, VP, College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Brian Kessler, VP, College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Mary Anne Modrcin, VP for Extended Learning Sites
  • Elaine Stapleton, Staff Senate President
  • Gary Wade, VP, School of Law

Academic Administrators

  • Sylvia Lynch, EdD, Dean, Carter and Moyers School of Education
  • James Maxwell, DMgt, PhD, Dean, School of Business
  • Adam Rollins, PhD, Dean, School of Mathematics and Sciences
  • Martin Sellers, PhD, Dean, Paul V. Hamilton School of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences
  • Elizabeth Burchette Thompson, DMV, Dean, School of Allied Health Sciences